Home Uncategorized Types of Family Violence

Types of Family Violence

Types of Family Violence


What is Family Violence?

Family Violence is classified as a criminal act of assault with regard to married couples or members of the same family. Family Violence can take place in a variety forms, but typically requires the presence of abuse sustained by one individual member of a romantic couple at the hands of the other member of the couple; Family Violence can manifest itself in physical, emotional, sexual, or psychological forms.

Family violence can also be grouped with child abuse or acts of violence administered to children in a family setting. Regardless of the classification, all acts of family violence, whether delivered in an emotional, physical or psychological medium, are considered debilitating and in most cases illegal. Contact a family lawyer to find legal protection.

What is Child Abuse?

Acts of Child Abuse are grouped into the broad classification of family violence. Child abuse is legally defined as the general mishandling – through unlawful wrongdoing, unethical activity, or neglect – with regard to a child or minor. Acts of child abuse can range in the severity of the offense, in addition to the events undertaken by the respective offender.

Child abuse can be administered in a psychological, physical, emotional, and sexual form; it can mirror any type of abuse directed at an adult – yet, due to the nature of the age(s) of the victim(s), the punishments attached to a child abuse conviction are typically severe.

Although Child Abuse is classified as abuse directed towards a minor, the severity of child abuse convictions and punishment can rely heavily on the respective age of the victim in question, a child abuse violation varies upon individual intent, criminal record, criminal history, and the age(s) of the alleged victim(s).

In child abuse cases involving child abuse of a sexual nature, an individual found guilty may be forced to register with a sex offender registry – mandatory therapy might be instated in the case of other types of child abuse cases.

Neglect is described as delinquency with regard to the well-being and welfare of a child, which can include abandonment, disregard, and rejection – neglect can take place in conjunction to a variety of child abuse offenses.

Types of Family Violence:

Family Violence in a physical form constitutes abuse or assault sustained by one or both members of a romantic partnership or family group. In most instances, acts of physical Family Violence can provide law enforcement with noticeable signs of bodily injury, which may prompt the authorities to take necessary actions including displacement of children or a formal prosecution of the aggressive party.

Emotional and Psychological Family Violence constitutes verbal abuse or assault sustained by one or both members of a romantic partnership or family group. Family violence, when administered in an emotional or psychological setting, can include insulting, name-calling, threats, and emotional abuse. In most cases, the signs of this type of Family Violence are far more difficult to initially identify than their physical counterparts.

Family Violence in a sexual form constitutes sexual abuse sustained by one or both members of a romantic partnership or family group. Family Violence, when delivered in a sexual nature, can include spousal rape, family rape, and sexual abuse.

What to do if you are a Victim of Family Violence:

In the event that you or a loved one has been made aware of an ongoing act of Family Violence, you are encouraged to contact your local authorities or law enforcement department in order to report the details of the offense. In the event that an individual wishes to do so in an anonymous fashion, they have to opportunity to contact the appropriate government department, such as the National Family Violence Hotline through their 24-hour telephone number: (800) 799-7233.